News from Arkeyn Steel Records

LATENT FURY/ION VEIN – Demo 1991/Beyond Tomorrow CDLimited Edition 500 Handnumbered CDs

Release Date: December 21st, 2018


FINALLY! One of the most important demo tapes of the second wave of US Power Prog Metal plus one of the best Power/Prog debut albums of the same 90s era, are officially reissued on a combo release. One guitarist, two bands, one release.

US Power/Prog excellence. The one and only Latent Fury demo plus the Ion Vein debut album, both out of print since ages. Re-released together for the first time, remastered and packed with unreleased songs, lyrics and never before seen photos.

LATENT FURY from Chicago, Illinois were formed back in 1989 by guitarist Chris Lotesto and vocalist Tom Sobczynski. In 1991 they released their one and only, same titled, demo tape which considered as an absolute holy grail on the US Power/Prog Metal universe. Three masterpieces in the vein of old FATES WARNING, CRIMSON GLORY and QUEENSRYCHE were included in the tape. The band started to take local stages by storm. Their shows were awesome and they played even more originals. Unfortunately, the band didn’t last long. In 1994 they split up without managing to return on the studio to record the rest of their material. Lotesto moved forward to form ION VEIN with vocalist, Russ Klimczak.

„Beyond Tomorrow“, the debut album by ION VEIN was released in 1999, representing an evolved, more melodic and complex sound combining the vibes of SAVATAGE and QUEENSRYCHE on a solid and inspired musical result. The album generated a huge impact on the underground and it is considered today as one of the best releases of the 90s US Power Prog Metal scene. It was released by the band’s own Majesphere Records and it became out of print very quickly, remaining without a reissue until today.

Arkeyn Steel Records packs the LATENT FURY demo and the ION VEIN debut, adding as bonus the unreleased LATENT FURY originals that were only recorded live on the band’s shows.

This is a key reissue for everyone deeply focused on the US Power Prog Metal. Everything -even the live recordings- is remastered from scratch for the best possible sound. Lyrics, info and lots of unreleased photos are also included. The messenger flies beyond tomorrow offering you the ultimate US Power Prog experience. Do not miss it!

1. Messenger Of Death
2. Streets On Fire
3. The Visionary
4. Horizons
5. Reflections Unclear
6. Fading Shadows
7. Heart of the Matter
8. Static Vision
9. The Bridge of Dawn
10. Here Today Gone Tomorrow
11. Beyond Tomorrow
12. False Realization
13. Latent Fury
14. So Many Ways
15. The Bridge of Dawn
16. The Escape
17. Unopened Eyes

1-3 Latent Fury – Demo 1991
4-11 Ion Vein – Beyond Tomorrow 1999
12-17 Latent Fury – Unreleased Live Tracks 1994


KATELLA – Shades Of Grey/Freakshow 47 CDRelease Date: December 21st, 2018

Katella from Wisconsin, USA were founded in 1990 and from their very first days they followed a very specific direction playing their favorite music: Melodic Heavy Metal.

Their sound evolved throughout the years and got stronger and richer, with their 1995 „Shades Of Grey“ CD being a great example of their musical style. It features some of the most fantastic vocal melodies, explosive riffing and best melodic guitar leads someone can hear. Only 1000 copies were pressed on the small Megalithic Records label and as a result the CD went out of print very quickly.

Things are pretty much the same -if not better- on their „Freakshow 47“ album that was privately released by the band back on 2000. Another 1000 copies were pressed and they were gone really fast.

Arkeyn Steel Records presents both of their releases in one CD. Remastered, packed with lyrics and unreleased photos, including a bonus song from the band’s unreleased 1990 demo „Winds Of Change“.

This is amazing first class Melodic Heavy Metal delivered by a band who knew how to compose magnificent songs! For sure not to be missed!



1. Blue Curtain
2. Shades Of Grey
3. Looking Back
4. Beyond The Boundaries
5. Time Catches Up
6. Sunset Rider
7. Ties That Bind
8. Shrine
9. Wasting Away
10. Chosen
11. MaryAnne
12. Believe
13. Scratching At The Surface
14. Dreamality
15. Celebration Day
16. Long Way Back
17. Man Of The World
18. Final Day

1-6: Shades Of Grey (CD 1995)
7-17: Freakshow 47 (CD 2000)
18: Taken from “Winds Of Change” (Demo 1990)


AFTERIMAGE – Traveler In Crystal Visions CDRelease Date: December 21st, 2018
The band from Syros Island (Greece) delivers Heavy Metal in the melodic vein of bands like RIOT, FIFTH ANGEL old DOKKEN and Y&T.

Founded back in 2015 by vocalist Chris Papadakis and drummer Kostas Moiragias. From the very first days they started to compose their originals. In 2017 they recorded their debut album that will be officially released on December, 21st.  

Steel Gallery Records never stops searching for new bands around Greece. This is actually the first Heavy Metal album officially released by a band from Syros Island.

Chris Papadakis (OMINOUS SKY, ex REX MUNDI) unique voice, is a strong feature on AFTERIMAGE sound, it will bring into your mind singers like David Surkamp (PAVLOV’S DOG), Geddy Lee (RUSH), Mario Prünster (MAYFAIR) and Midnight (CRIMSON GLORY). Being quite active as a musician on many bands, Chris has shared the stage with bands like RIOT, JAG PANZER, HEIR APPARENT, SOLITUDE AETURNUS, HORIZONS END etc. In 2008 he participated on the „Visual Maze“ album by US Metal tribute band FINAL ANSWER (also on Steel Gallery Records), together with vocalists Mike Soliz (WATCHTOWER, MILITIA), Harry „The Tyrant“ Conklin (JAG PANZER), Bill Topaplides (HORIZON’S END, CROSSWIND) and Yiannis Papadimitriou (DARK NIGHTMARE). 

„I was lucky enough to find a drummer like Kostas Moiragias“, Chris points. Drumming since ages, Moiragias is the founder of the female fronted Metal band SPELLBOUND. Having participated in countless live projects, he now shares his extensive drumming talents in AFTERIMAGE, letting Petros Printezis (guitar), Andreas Hatzioannou (guitar) and Sideris Dalezios (bass) to do the axe work.

This is an amazing debut surely not to be missed. If you are still in search for songs that will stick in your mind for real, this is an album for you. Melodic Heavy Metal at its best by these newcomers. The journey in Crystal Visions has begun!

1. Traveler
2. Phoenix
3. Crystal Ball
4. Control
5. Connection Missing
6. Edge Of A Dream
7. September
8. Reach For The Sky
9. Rainy Night Obsession
10. Last Chance For Romance

Line up:
Chris Papadakis – Vocals
Kostas Moiragias – Drums
Petros Printezis – Guitars
Andreas Hatziioannou – Guitars
Sideris Dalezios – Bass

Guitars & bass recorded at Serj’s Home Studio, Syros Island – Greece.
Vocals recorded at WaveLab – Mobile Studio, Syros Island – Greece.
Drums recorded at Wudsound Studios & Soundway Studios, Athens – Greece.
Mixed and mastered by: Markos Samaras at Wudsound Studios, Athens – Greece.
Produced by: Markos Samaras & Afterimage

Cover by: Caio Caldas / CadiesArt – www.CadiesArt.com
Artwork & Layout by: Kostas Athanasoglou
Band logo by: Kostas Athanasoglou
Executive Producer: Kostas Athanasoglou for Steel Gallery Records